King Saul the Man After the Flesh

By Samuel Ridout

Table of Contents

Title Page
Table of Contents
   Part 1
Chapter 1   The State of the People
Chapter 2   The Captivity in the Philistines' Land
Chapter 3   God's Care for His own Honor
Chapter 4   God's Mercy to His Humbled People
Chapter 5   The People's Desire for a King
   Part 2
Chapter 6   The Call of the King
Chapter 7   The New King
Chapter 8   Tested and Found Wanting
Chapter 9   Saul and Jonathan Contrasted
Chapter 10   Saul's Foolish Oath
Chapter 11   Saul's Kingdom Established
Chapter 12   Amalek Spared
Chapter 13   The Man after God's own Heart
Chapter 14   The Breach between Saul and David
Chapter 15   David and Jonathan
Chapter 16   The Priesthood in Connection with David and with Saul
Chapter 17   Saul's Pursuit of David
Chapter 18   The Triumph of Magnanimity
Chapter 19   David and Abigail
Chapter 20   Contrasts of Faith and Failure
Chapter 21   Saul and the Witch of Endor
Chapter 22   David with the Philistines
Chapter 23   David's Chastening and Recovery
Chapter 24   The Death of Saul and Jonathan
Chapter 25   David's Lament over Saul and Jonathan