The Order and Grouping of the Twelve Tribes.

Appendix 45 From The Companion Bible.


There are twenty different lists given of the Twelve Tribes. These vary according to the different objects with which they are given, and the different connection in which they stand, according to: mothers, encampment, numeration, blessing, geographical relation, etc. All are worthy of attention and study1. They May thus presented:—

  Genesis Exodus Numbers
29, 35 46 49 1 1:1-15 1:20-43 2:7, 10 13 26 24
1 Ruben       Ruben Ruben Judah Ruben Ruben        ‡
2 Simeon       Simeon Simeon Issachar Simeon Simeon Judah
3 Levi       Judah Gad Zebulun Judah Gad  
4 Judah       Issachar Judah Reuben Issachar Judah Simeon
5 Dan Issachar Zebulun Issachar Zebulun Issachar Simeon Ephraim Issachar Benjamin
6 Naphtali Zebulun Issachar Zebulun Ephraim Zebulin Gad Benjamin Zebulun Dan
7 Gad   Dan Benjamin Manasseh Ephraim Ephraim Zebulun Manasseh Manasseh
8 Asher   Gad Dan Benjamin Manasseh Manasseh Manasseh Ephraim Ephraim
9 Issachar Joseph Asher Naphtali Dan Benjamin Benjamin Dan Benjamin Zebulun
10 Zebulun Benjamin Naphtali Gad Asher Dan Dan Asher Dan Issachar
11 Joseph Dan Joseph Asher Gad Asher Asher Naphtali Asher Asher
12 Benjamin Naphtali Benjamin           * Naphtali Naphtali Naphtali Gad Naphtali Naphtali
14         ||


  Deuteronomy Joshua Judges 1 Chronicles Ezekiel Revelation
27 33 13 &c. 5 2:1, 2 2:3-8 12 27 48 7
1 Simeon Ruben Ruben Ephraim Ruben Judah Judah Ruben Dan Judah
2 Levi Judah Gad Benjamin Simeon Simeon Simeon Simeon Asher Ruben
3 Judah Levi Man. E. Machir=Man. Levi Ruben Levi Levi Naphtali Gad
4 Issachar Benjamin Judah   Judah Gad Benjamin Aaron=Levi Manasseh Asher
5 Joseph Joseph Ephraim Zebulun Issachar Man. E. Ephraim Judah Ephraim Naphtali
6 Benjamin Zebulun Man. W. Issachar Zebulun Levi Man. E. Issachar Ruben Manasseh
7 Ruben Issachar Benjamin Ruben Dan Issachar Issachar Zebulun Judah Simeon
8 Gad Gad Simeon   Joseph Benjamin Zebulun Naphtali Levi Levi
9 Asher Dan Zebulun Gilead=Gad Benjamin Naphtali Naphtali Ephraim Benjamin Issachar
10 Zebulun Naphtali Issachar Dan Naphtali Man. W. Dan Man. W. Simeon Zebulun
11 Dan Asher Asher Asher Gad Ephraim Asher Benjamin Issachar Joseph
12 Naphtali   Naphtali Zebulun Asher Asher Reuben Dan Zebulun Benjamin
13     Dan Naphtali     Gad   Gad  
14   ** ††   ‡‡



* Joseph omitted, he being in Egypt.

† Levi omitted.

‡ This is the only order which occurs three times. Levi mentioned in chapter 2:17 after Gad. The order is that of importance.

|| Eastern Tribes omitted.

Simeon omitted. Benjamin before Joseph, because the order is geographical.

Here the Tribes are in the four groups which are to furnish cities for the four classes of Priests.

Judah and Simeon omitted.

** Zebulon and Dan omitted, unless Dan is read in 7:12.

†† Gad and Asher omitted.

‡‡ Dan omitted.

1) Two orders mentioned but not detailed. (1) The order "according to birth", on the two stones on the High Priest's shoulders (the place of strength). (2) The order on the twelve stones of the High Priest's breastplate (the place of love). this was according to their tribes, as chosen by Jehovah's love.